Summer and vacation and have come and gone and I have neglected this blog a little.  I still have been enjoying cooking fresh and delicious meals, but haven’t had the patience to pull out the camera.  I’ve kept busy with my Doberman puppy (now five months old) who doesn’t leave me much time to cook something before tearing something up.  She’s a blast, but as soon as I turn around she’s getting into something.  I was able to cook a bit this morning, after taking her to the park for tracking, a two mile walk, and playing in the lake.  Thank goodness!

These pancakes are a delicious treat for breakfast (or really, any meal!)  This recipe has a banana mashed in the batter, since I have found I don’t like the appearance of slices in the pancakes but would miss the flavor.

Ingredients:
-1 1/2 Cups Flour
-1 Tablespoon Sugar
-2 teaspoons Baking Powder
-1 1/4 Cup 2% Milk
-1 Large Banana, mashed
-1 Egg
-1 teaspoon Vanilla
-1/4 Cup Chocolate Chips

Optional:  Garnish with banana slices and additional chocolate chips.

In a medium bowl, mix together flour, sugar, and baking powder.  In a separate larger bowl, mix together mashed banana, egg, milk, and vanilla.  Mix in the dry with the wet ingredients, and fold in chocolate chips.  Let rest for a few minutes while your griddle or pan heats.  Flip when bubbles appear and keep warm in the oven until ready to serve.

