Spaghetti Pie is my favorite meal from childhood.  Anytime when my mom asked what I wanted for dinner, I suggested this.  When I started having a desire to cook, my mom would mail me a recipe card about once a week.  She wouldn’t send the next card until I had made the following recipe and gave her my feedback.  It was a great way to get started!  I remember the Spaghetti Pie recipe came near the end of the recipes she gave me.  I think she knew if she gave it to me in the beginning, it would be all I ever made, ha!

Ingredients:

For the Crust:
-6 Ounces Spaghetti
-2 Tablespoons Butter
-1/4 Cup Grated or Crumbled Parmesan
-1 Egg, beaten

For the Filling:
-1 Pound Ground Beef
-1/2 Chopped Yellow Onion (about 1/2 Cup)
-2 Cloves Garlic, minced
-1 (6 ounce) Can Tomato Paste
-1 (8 ounce) Can Tomato Sauce
-1 teaspoon Italian Seasoning
-1 Cup Cottage Cheese
-1/2 Cup Shredded Cheddar

Preheat oven to 350F.
Cook spaghetti to al dente, according to package directions and drain.
In a medium bowl, add egg, Parmesan cheese, and butter.
Mix in hot spaghetti and place in a pie plate, pushing spaghetti up the edges like a crust.

Add a layer of cottage cheese.
Meanwhile, brown ground beef with onions and garlic.

Add tomato paste and sauce.
Mix well, add Italian seasonings, and let simmer for five minutes.
Add meat filling to the prepared pie crust, gently placing it on top of the cottage cheese.
Bake in the oven for 20 minutes.
Remove and sprinkle cheddar cheese on top.  Return pie to the oven for another 5 minutes, until cheese is melted.

Cut into pie pieces and serve!

