These are the softest cookies I’ve ever had and are nice and chewy.  Don’t get me wrong, I like ginger snaps, but there’s a time and a place for them.  These cookies are perfect for the holidays!

Since I’ve received this recipe, Darren has requested these cookies for every function he can come up with.  He had a work potluck this week and guess what he requested…Soft Ginger Molasses Cookies!

Ingredients:
-3/4 Cup Margarine (NOT butter), softened
-1 Cup White Sugar
-1 Egg
-2 teaspoons Water
-1 teaspoon Vanilla
-1/4 Cup Molasses

-2 1/4 Cups All-Purpose Flour
-1 Tablespoon Ground Ginger
-1 teaspoon Ground Cinnamon
-1/4 teaspoon Ground Cloves
-1/4 teaspoon Black Pepper, freshly-ground (trust me on this!)
-1/4 teaspoon Salt
-1 teaspoon Baking Soda

Sift together flour, salt, and baking soda.  Add spices.

Peel ginger.  I used a steak knife…don’t tell anyone that I’m an amateur when it comes to using knives.  It’s my kitchen weakness.
Grate the ginger.  Or mince it up.  I’ve done both, and either works.
Add ginger into the dry ingredients.

In a separate large bowl, cream together margarine and sugar.

I honestly could eat just this.  It’s gross and not socially acceptable, I know.

Beat in the egg, water, and molasses.

Gradually add the dry ingredients.

Keep mixing, scraping the sides of the bowl, until incorporated.

Shape the dough into walnut-sized balls (or use a 3/4 scooper.)  Place them on a parchment-lined cookie sheet.  Tip:  if you have time, refrigerate the cookie dough for a half hour.  It’s less sticky and easier to work with.

Bake for 9-11 minutes in the preheated oven.

Important:  allow cookies to cool on the baking sheet for 5 minutes before transferring to a wire rack.

These cookies will stay soft for days!  Store in a sealed container for up to three days.  No one will know the difference!

