My in-laws hooked me up with some local grass fed longhorn that I wanted to use in chili.  They gave me a pound of sirloin and a pound of ground beef.  Let me start by saying:  I’ve never smelled beef that smelled so good before!  The cows are pretty happy, graze all day, and come right up to us whenever we visit.  To some it may seem strange to know exactly what you’re eating, but I find it comforting.I know I recently provided a basic chili recipe, but this is by far one of the best meaty chili recipes I’ve ever come up with!

Ingredients:
-1 Pound Sirloin, cubed
-1 Pound Lean Ground Beef
-1 Onion, chopped
-3 Cloves Garlic, minced
-1 14oz Can Diced Tomatoes
-1 Can of Rotel Tomatoes (with chilies, mild)
-1 Can of Chili Beans, hot
-1 Can of Chili Beans, mild
-1-2 Tablespoons Chili Powder
-1/4 teaspoon Red Pepper Flakes
-1 Tablespoon Taco Seasoning
-Salt and Pepper, to taste

Cut sirloin into bite-sized pieces.

Heat crock pot to low heat.  On medium-high heat in a skillet, sear sirloin cubes.  I suggest doing it in batches and not crowding the pan.

Put the sirloin pieces into the crock pot to keep warm.

Now, brown the ground beef, onions, and garlic.

Drain fat, if there is any.  Put the beef into the crock pot as well.

Now, add your cans of beans and tomatoes.

Add seasonings and mix together in the crock pot.Cook on low for 8 hours, or high for 4 hours.

Serve with your favorite chili toppings!


