Peanut butter pie is a tradition at my in laws’ Thanksgiving.  I’d never had it until then and absolutely fell in love.  I always wanted Carol’s recipe and finally got it when I married into the family!

Although, this isn’t Carol’s recipe.  Hers is pretty simple and involves a whole tub of Cool Whip.  While I don’t have anything against that…if there’s an option to involve heavy cream, I’ll take it instead!

This peanut butter pie is a classic, rich, creamy version.  I made my crust with oreos, but graham crackers are good as well!

Here’s the best part- this pie will keep in the freezer for at least a week!  I’ve kept them for longer but the crust doesn’t stay as crunchy.  This is perfect for making ahead of time.  When serving, let thaw for about 30-60 minutes.  It’s similar to an ice cream cake.  Yum!

Ingredients:

Filling:
– 1 1/2 Cups Heavy Whipping Cream
-1/4 Cup Sugar
-8 Ounces Cream Cheese, softened
-1 Cup Creamy Peanut Butter
-1 Cup Powdered Sugar

Crust:
-24 Oreos, crushed
-1/4 Cup Butter

First, make your crust.  Take 24 Oreos from the package, eat the rest.

Crush them up in a plastic bag, or in a food processor.  The latter is easier, trust me.

Melt 1/4 cup of butter (half a stick) and mix in with crumbs.

Press the crumbs up against the edges evenly with a fork.

Place pie crust in the fridge for an hour to chill so it doesn’t crumble apart when assembling.

Whip heavy cream and sugar together until stiff peaks form.

In a medium bowl, mix together peanut butter, cream cheese, and powdered sugar.


Fold peanut butter mixture in with whipped cream.

Gently put filling in pie crust, being careful not to drag the spatula around. (It’ll tear up the crust.)

Put all of the filling in in the crust.

Put in the freezer for at least 4 hours.

Garnish with chocolate syrup, more crushed oreos, or reese’s cups!

Absolutely amazing!

