Last week was quite the interesting  week.  I flew out to NJ for a business trip on Monday and it was a bit crazy due to Saturday’s snow storm.  A lot of places didn’t have power!  Luckily, my hotel did.  But my office down the street did not.  I was still able to get the things done I went to accomplish, just in a roundabout way.

With snow on the ground, I was craving a classic comfort food meal.  So I figured I would share with you my favorite Chicken & Dumplings recipe!  This version is done in the Northern style.  In contrast, in the South, the dough is rolled out and cut.  It’s all about preference!  And I prefer this style.

To keep it simple, I used a rotisserie chicken (already cooked) and shredded the meat.  These are available for $5 at my local grocery store and simply can’t be beat, especially for a weeknight meal!  I used the dark meat in this recipe and saved the breasts for later.  I then turned around and made more chicken broth with the leftover carcass!  I really used every penny’s worth of that chicken.

Ingredients:

Soup:
-2 Cups Shredded/Cubed Chicken (cooked)
-2 Leeks, white and green parts only, sliced.
-2 Tablespoons Unsalted Butter
-1 Large Onion, chopped
-1 Quart (32 oz) Chicken Broth (homemade is best, but low-sodium store bought is good too.)
-1 Large Carrot, peeled and sliced

Dumplings:
-2 Cups All-Purpose Flour
-1 Tablespoon Baking Powder
-1 teaspoon Salt
-1 Cup Whole Milk
-3 Tablespoons Reserved Chicken Fat (or unsalted butter)

Add butter to a dutch over or large pot and melt over medium-high heat.  Add carrots and cook for five minutes.  Add leeks and onion and cook until soft, another 5-7 minutes.  Add broth and chicken and reduce heat to medium, being sure not to let boil.

Mix flour, baking powder, and salt together.  Heat the milk and fat or butter in a microwave-safe bowl until just warm, about 1 minute.  Stir the milk and fat in with the dry ingredients until incorporated.

Increase heat to medium-high and allow the soup to simmer.  Add salt and pepper if desired.  Drop golf-ball-sized dumplings over the top of the soup, being sure not to let them touch.  (I drop them in using two spoons.)  Reduce the heat to low, cover, and cook until the dumplings have doubled in size, 15-18 minutes.

Stay warm!

