Words can not express how excited I am to host Thanksgiving for the first time on my own.  Part of that preparation means making things ahead of time to practice!  I was planning on Turnip Gratin being a Thanksgiving dish.  After making it, I can say it will definitely go in my frequent rotation of sides to make!  It’s absolutely delicious.  The turnips add fantastic flavor, and the gruyere complements it perfectly.

I love root veggies in the Fall!

Ingredients:

-4 Turnips, scrubbed and peeled, thinly sliced
-4 Cloves Garlic, chopped
-2 Cups Gruyere Cheese, grated
-2 Tablespoons Butter
-Heavy Cream
-Black Pepper, to taste

Preheat oven to 375F.

Peel and thinly slice the turnips and chop garlic.  (I forgot to include a pic because I sliced my finger open!  Ouch!)

Grate the Gruyere cheese.
In a skillet on medium heat, melt half of the butter.  Place a thin layer of turnips on the bottom.
Next, sprinkle garlic, pepper, cheese, and the rest of the butter on top.  Repeat with another layer of turnips.  Top again with garlic and cheese.
Add a splash of heavy cream over top- around 2 Tablespoons.

Put it in the oven for around 20 minutes, until the top is golden and bubbly.  Stunning!
Serve hot out of the skillet and enjoy!

