Making a whole chicken in the crock pot is one of the easiest and most convenient things out there.  When my mom told me about making this, I was always too intimidated.  You mean…I have to take the giblets out of the cavity?  I promise it’s really easy.  It takes me a total of ten minutes to get one of these in the crock pot and be on my way.  And I think five of those ten minutes are spent washing my hands.  Raw chicken grosses me out to the core.  If I can do it, you can too.

This recipe can be modified of what you have on hand- I always change my up!  Be sure to add chicken broth to keep it moist in the crock pot as it cooks.  You’re welcome to add potatoes but I think they get a tad grainy when made in the crock pot.

Ingredients:

-1 Whole Chicken
-4 Carrots, peeled and chopped
-1 Lemon, quartered
-4 Sprigs of Fresh Rosemary
-1 1/2 Cups of Chicken Broth, or 1 (14oz) Can Chicken Broth
-2 Tablespoons Olive Oil
-2 teaspoons Poultry Seasoning
-1 Onion, sliced

Peel and slice carrots.
Peel and slice the onion.  Scrub and quarter the lemon.
Remove giblets from the chicken, wash and pat dry.

Rub olive oil and seasoning under the skin of the chicken, being careful not to tear the skin.  Place a sprig of rosemary under the skin by both chicken breasts.  Put the other sprigs and two pieces of the lemon in the cavity of the chicken.  My rosemary was falling apart all over the place, so I left some on the skin too.

I would’ve taken more pics of the process, but I would have had to wash my hands 2743 more times between each step.

Pour the chicken broth or stock into your crock pot.  Place the chicken, carrots, onions, and lemon quarters in the pot as well.  Arrange around the chicken.
Cook on high for 3 hours or low on 6 hours, until chicken is done.  Be careful not to cook it for longer- or it will dry out.

Serve and enjoy the easiest chicken dinner ever!

 

