I can’t get enough of using the grill.  Summer feels like it’s sneaking away here in Ohio so I want to grill, grill, grill before it’s too cold.  I know some people are hardcore and grill in the snow…but that’s not for me.  Maybe I can talk someone else into doing it!  Ha!

This grilled chicken is fantastic and very quick to make for a whole chicken.  Darren & I spatchcocked the chicken.  I’ll provide you with step-by-step photos, because although it seems intimidating, it isn’t hard!  Spatchcocking is good because it allows the chicken to lie flat on the grill surface.  This way, it will grill more evenly and quickly.  Our chicken only took 30 minutes to make!

Ingredients:

-1 Whole Chicken, giblets removed
-5 Tablespoons Butter, melted
-Fresh Rosemary, Thyme, and Sage, chopped and stems removed (1/4 cup, total)
-1 teaspoon Kosher Salt

First lets spatchcock this bad boy.  Go ahead and get the giggles out of the way now…

And I’d like to add a disclaimer that most of these pics do not involve my hands- they are certainly not that manly.  Someone has to operate the camera!

Locate the backbone of the chicken.

Use sharp kitchen shears or a knife to cut along one side.  You’ll cut through the ribcage, so make sure they’re sharp!
It’s really not so bad!

Cut all the way through so you can lift the backbone out.

Next, flip the chicken over.

Pretend you’re a chiropractor and press down firmly on the chicken.  🙂

Bring on the herb butter!

Stuff it under the skin of the chicken and rub it around a little, being careful not to tear the skin.

Get both sides slathered in herb butter.

Step back and admire the herby buttery goodness!

Bring the bird out to the pre-heated grill.  You’ll want it at medium indirect heat, approximately 425F.

Can I just say I really love this grill?  You’re listening, right? I love it!
Cook on each side for 15 minutes until a thermometer inserted in multiple spots reads 165-175F.

Remove from grill and let rest for 5 minutes.

Serve warm with grilled corn!

