Can I tell you something? I didn’t make a true caprese pasta dish. I searched high and low for basil and failed miserably. I killed my basil plant two months ago and the grocery store had brown basil leaves. I really wanted basil in this. But, I couldn’t resist making this delicious dinner. I substituted spinach instead this go-around, and I promise you it’s good whichever way you make it. Honestly, I’m so big on color balance I would have never shared it with you if there was nothing green in it.

Ingredients:

-1 pound Pasta (Penne, Rigatoni, etc.)
-1 cup Pasta/Tomato Sauce
-β…“ cup Heavy Cream
-1/3 cup Red Wine
-β…“ cups Freshly Grated Parmesan Cheese -plus more for garnish
-4 Ounces Fresh Mozzarella, cut into cubes
-2 Pints Grape Tomatoes, chopped in half
-1 Bunch Fresh Basil Leaves or Spinach

Combine pasta sauce, heavy cream, Parmesan and red wine in a large pan on low heat. Stir occasionally while you prepare the pasta.
Cook pasta according to directions, cutting off 1-2 minutes of cook time since it will cook more in the oven.

Chop tomatoes and mozzarella while pasta cooks and sauce thickens.

So maybe I was also drinking wine…ignore the glass in the background. *hiccup*

When the pasta is done cooking, add it to the sauce and stir to coat.

Fold in spinach (or basil) and mozzarella cubes.

Pour into an oven safe dish. Top with more Parmesan cheese.

Bake at 350F for 25 minutes, until cheese is golden. Let cool for five minutes before serving.

Serve with homemade garlic bread sticks and the rest of the red wine. πŸ™‚

