We came across a recipe called “Poor Man’s Filet” a long time ago- and this is our variation.  I don’t really understand the title, since filet doesn’t have pieces of veggies in it, but hey, I’m not one to argue over good food.  I especially enjoy the bacon wrapped around the burger.  I served mine up with my favorite homemade buns, which makes all the difference in the world!

Ingredients:

-1-1.5 lbs ground beef
-3-5 slices bacon
-3-5 slices of cheese (we use Provolone)
-1/4 of a green pepper, chopped fine
-1/4 cup carrots, chopped fine or shredded
-1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
-1/2 teaspoon garlic salt
-1/2 teaspoon black pepper
-1 teaspoon chives

Chop veggies as small as possible.

Nothing like fresh chives!

Mix veggies, garlic salt, pepper, Worcestershire sauce and ground beef.  Form into patties.

Wrap in bacon.  I was out of toothpicks so I used some pieces of spaghetti I broke.  It’s actually an awesome trick!

Put on the grill on medium heat, flip after 6-8 minutes.

Cook until well done!  Put cheese on for the last minute.

Mmm.

