Can I be honest with you?  The word “casserole” makes me cringe.  I turn my nose up at most.  I mean, who likes a giant 9 x 13 full of the same flavored mush?  Not me.  So listen- if I give you a casserole recipe, know that it’s delish.  Ok?  Thanks for trusting me.

Prepping our house to put on the market is a stressful and time consuming thing.  Instead of spending most of my evenings in the kitchen, I find myself organizing, cleaning, etc.  I crave convenience. This does the trick.

Ingredients:

  • 4 whole Boneless, Skinless Chicken Breasts (1-2 lbs)
  • 12 ounces, weight Egg Noodles (I Used Angel Hair)
  • 1 whole Onion, Chopped
  • ½ cups Carrots, Chopped
  • 1/4 cups Celery, Chopped
  • 1 can Cream Of Mushroom Soup (10 Ounce Can)
  • 1 can Cream Of Chicken Soup (10 Ounce Can)
  • ½ cups Sour Cream
  • Salt And Pepper, to taste
  • 1 package (1 Sleeve From A Standard, 16 Ounce Box) Ritz Crackers, Crushed
  • Butter or Margarine, as Needed

In a large pot, bring water to a boil.  Add a drizzle of olive oil and a sprinkle of salt.  Boil chicken breasts until done, about 20 minutes.

Cook noodles according to package, al dente.Cube chicken while pasta is cooking.

Reserve a piece or five for your faithful canine companion.  Now is a good time to preheat the oven to 350F.

Chop onions, carrots, and celery.

Heat butter in skillet and cook veggies until soft.


Add cream of mushroom and cream of chicken soups, along with sour cream.

Mix until incorporated.

Spoon into greased 9 x 13 pan.

Bake at 350F for 20 minutes.  Remove from oven, crush Ritz crackers, and bake for another 5-10 minutes until golden.

Serve piping hot with a side of green veggies!

Is that serving disturbingly huge?  Yeah, I thought so.  It was my hubs’ plate.  And he went back for seconds.

