I’ve been on a pudding kick. Ever since I made the Chocolate Pudding Pie, I’ve craved vanilla pudding. To make it more interesting, I used vanilla bean paste, which is a great substitute to using vanilla beans. It gives the pudding a rich vanilla flavor with the adorable little vanilla bean speckles. You can surely substitute vanilla extract, or even use a vanilla bean, but if you’ve been looking for an excuse to buy vanilla bean paste- it’s totally worth it! I use mine all the time.

“Krema,” a cornstarch pudding, is a standard in many Greek homes. It is very versatile- so feel free to get creative with what flavors you would like to add! Fruits, spices (nutmeg, cinnamon,) or even rum for a naughtier version!

Ingredients

  • 2 cups milk (I used 2%)
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 3 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla bean paste (or vanilla extract)
First, measure out sugar, cornstarch, and salt into your saucepan. Add milk and turn burner on to medium heat.
The importance of starting with the dry ingredients and then adding the milk is to ensure there’s no clumping. I’ve seen many pudding recipes that start with heating the milk- what a pain!
Add the vanilla bean paste (or extract) and keep whisking.
I always have a moment of panic that the pudding isn’t thickening…but I keep whisking…and then sure enough it does! It does take a little time to thicken up, so be patient. I know, it’s hard.
You’ll know it’s ready when you can see the bottom of the pot when you make a streak with the whisk.
Spoon into bowls and chill for at least an hour.
Sprinkle cinnamon or fresh fruit on top!
