When I first saw this recipe, it seemed so ho-hum.  But then I realized chocolate + pudding + pie = heaven.  Plus the simplicity and few ingredients attracted me.  I’d never made homemade pudding until then, and now I’ll probably only eat homemade pudding.  It changed my life.  This pie isn’t too rich and isn’t too sweet.  It’s light, fluffy, and perfect for Spring and Summer.  Totally crave-worthy.  And the husband and I just ate half of it after dinner…oops!

Ingredients:

-1/4 cup cornstarch
-1/3 cup plus 2 tablespoons sugar, divided
-3 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
-1/4 teaspoon salt
-3 cups whole milk
-4 ounces bittersweet chocolate (not more than 60% cacao), finely chopped
-1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
-1 cup chilled heavy cream

-1 pie crust

-Bittersweet chocolate shavings for garnish (optional)

Start by preparing your pie crust.  Cook at 375F for 20-30 minutes until done.

If you’re feeling fancy, put some pie weights in…but I wasn’t feeling like achieving aesthetic perfection, so I skipped it.

Pull out the ingredients for the filling.  See?  Simple.

Oh and maybe I wanted to show off my new counters some more!

To make the filling, whisk together cornstarch, 1/3 cup of sugar, and cocoa powder.

Slowly whisk in milk over medium heat.

Bring to a boil, whisking continuously for two minutes.  You’ll know it’s ready when it gets thick.

Remove from heat and add chocolate and vanilla.  Timesaver tip:  I was feeling lazy and used chocolate chips instead of chopping up part of a bar of chocolate (after all, I’d have to eat the rest too.)

Pour filling into cooled pie shell and allow to chill in the fridge for at least two hours.

Right before serving, whip up the heavy cream and remaining sugar until stiff peaks form.

Another tip:  Whipped cream looks best right after it’s whipped up.  But, you can put it on this pie up to a day before.  It just won’t be as fluffy.  You can make the pie up to two days ahead, too.  Good luck with not eating it for that long!

