If you don’t know me very well, then you probably don’t know my obsession with citrus fruits, especially lemons.  I also love limes too.  I can eat them whole (yep, including the rind.)  I know it’s strange to some, but I’ve always been this way!  Thanks mom, for craving and eating lots of lemons during pregnancy.

I was in Las Vegas last week for work and was especially enjoying Ketel One and Seven Up with a lime.  Off duty, of course.  When I got home I was still on a lime kick so here we are.

If you’ve never had a meltaway cookie, please do try these.  They’re tart, but the fact that they’re rolled in powdered sugar keeps it in check.  🙂   This recipe makes about 5 dozen cookies.

Ingredients:

-12 tablespoons (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
-1 cup confectioners’ (powdered) sugar
-Grated zest of 4 tiny or 2 large key limes
-2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lime juice
-1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract (I used vanilla bean paste!)
-1 3/4 cup  all-purpose flour
-2 tablespoons cornstarch
-1/4 teaspoon salt

Cream butter and 1/3 cup of sugar until light and fluffy.

Zest the limes.

Juice ’em.

Add zest, juice, and vanilla and beat again until fluffy.

Mix together flour, cornstarch and salt.  Slowly incorporate with butter mixture.

Divide the dough in half.

Roll into two 1 1/4-inch logs.

Wrap in parchment paper.

And stick in the fridge for at least an hour.

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Line the baking sheet with parchment paper.  Cut cookies 1/4 inch thick.

Space them at least 1/2 inch apart.

Bake for 10-15 minutes until a light golden color develops on the edges.

Allow to cool just a little (2-3 minutes) and toss in 2/3 cup powdered sugar.  I used a zip loc to keep the mess to a minimum.

and voila!

