I made apple crisp like a crazy person in the Fall.  I played with the recipe, tweaked it, doubled it, halved it, tried to make it healthy, tried to make it artery clogging (what can I say, I love butter and heavy cream)…but I still ended up coming back to this trusty recipe.

Choose a good baking apple, please. It will make all the difference in the world.  They need to have a good taste- not too sweet, not too tart.  And they need to have the right consistency.  Some apples break down too much, or are too grainy (i.e. red delicious) and some are just right.  I suggest: Jonathan,  Honeycrisp, Melrose, Granny Smith, Rome, or Gala.

Ingredients

  • 10 cups  apples, peeled, cored and sliced (about 6 large apples)
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1 cup quick-cooking oats
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup (packed) brown sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 cup butter, melted

I quartered my recipe so I could have an individual serving, in case you were wondering.  🙂  If you bake this by the recipe, use a 9 x 13 baking dish.

Preheat oven to 350F.  Peel apples if desired. Core and slice.

Mix granulated sugar, 1 Tablespoon flour, cinnamon and nutmeg.  Toss apples in mixture.

Combine oats, 1 cup flour, brown sugar, baking soda, baking powder, and melted butter.  Crumble evenly over apples in baking dish.

If you’re feeling extra indulgent, double the topping recipe. (Not that I’ve ever done something like that…)

Bake at 350F for 25-25 minutes.  The crisp is done when the apples are soft when pierced with a fork.

Dig in!

