Still recovering from this stomach flu/virus, I had a random craving for rice pudding.  Ok, it’s not so random.  My mom used to make it for me as a kid when I was sick.  Although, it is amazing anytime.  Being sick is not a prerequisite.  I’m just whiny.

It’s creamy, sweet, and the ultimate comfort food.  Please enjoy it soon, under some thick cozy blankets while reading a good book.  Fireplace optional.

Serves 4-6.

Rice Pudding

Ingredients:

-2 cups water

-1cup white rice (I prefer short grain)

-1/4 teaspoon salt

-1/2 teaspoon lemon zest

-4 cups milk (whole milk preferred, but will still be successful with low-fat)

-1/2 cup sugar

-1/2 tsp vanilla

-1/2 tsp cinnamon

-1/2 cup golden raisins (optional)

Cook your rice up with the salt and lemon zest.  Now, please tell me you know how to cook rice.  Because I use a rice cooker and forgot how to cook rice the hard way.

While your rice is cooking, put milk, sugar, cinnamon, and vanilla in a large pot and heat through until the sugar melts.

Stir occasionally and be sure not to burn the milk.  I suggest a medium-low heat setting.

When the rice is done cooking, add the rice and raisins to the milk mixture.

It’ll be liquidy, so expect to cook it on medium heat for 10-15 minutes until it thickens up.

After the 15 minutes have passed, it looks much thicker.

Spoon into small bowls and chill.  It’s also good warm though, if you can’t wait (like me.)

Serve alone or with a garnish of bananas and cinnamon if you’re feeling fancy.

