This food is so perfect for me right now.  I caught some type of nasty stomach virus on the way home from business in NJ, and I could really go for a bowl of this stuff.  I’m sick of plain old boring chicken noodle soup.  This is the cure.

Matzo Ball Soup

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup matzo meal
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tbsp. oil or schmaltz (melted chicken fat)
  • 2 tbsp. water or chicken broth
  • 2 tbsp. fresh chopped parsley
  • a little black pepper
  • 2 quarts chicken broth
  • A handful of baby carrots or regular carrots cut into large chunks (optional)
  • a few stalks of celery cut into large chunks (optional)

I’ll go ahead and admit that I altered this recipe after making it- the ones I had made were too tough because I let them cook for too long.  Practice makes perfect!

Beat eggs, oil, and water together.

Add matzo meal, parsley, and black pepper.  If you’re feeling creative, jazz it up with some additional items such as garlic salt.   Disclaimer: I’m not an official source of Jewish cooking information, so I’m sure this is super untraditional.  But what tastes good, tastes good…and I went with it.

Wet hands and roll matzo balls to the size of ping-pong balls.

Next, bring broth and veggies to a boil.

Homemade broth is really the best, and I promise I’ll show you how to make it soon.

Drop the matzo balls in, cover, and cook for 20 minutes.

Please don’t make my mistake and over cook them.  They’re done when they float to the top and look a little bloated.

Serve with fresh chopped parsley on top and enjoy!

