I’ll admit it, I’m not a huge homemade mac and cheese fan.  I’ve always loved the stuff that comes in the blue box.  But this mac and cheese is totally different.  It’s creamy, baked, and cripsy crunchy on top.  It’s homemade mac and cheese perfection.  It also can have so many variations…bacon, broccoli, onions, garlic, a dash of paprika or nutmeg, cheese types…

  • 4 cups Dried Macaroni (1 lb box)
  • 1 whole Egg Beaten
  • ¼ cups (1/2 Stick Or 4 Tablespoons) Butter
  • ¼ cups All-purpose Flour
  • 2-½ cups Whole Milk
  • 1 1/2 tsp Dry Mustard, More If Desired
  • 1 pound Cheese, Grated
  • ½ teaspoons Ground Black Pepper

Optional:

  • 1 cup Panko bread crumbs
  • 2 tbs butter

Preheat oven to 350F.

Cook macaroni and drain before fully cooked.  I suggest a minute less than “al dente.”

In a small bowl, beat egg with fork.  The egg is essential and will hold the mac and cheese together for the perfect consistency!

In a large pot (I used a dutch oven) melt butter and sprinkle in flour.  This is called making a roux.   Doing so lets you thicken a sauce base without the flour clumping or forming lumps.  Constantly whisk this for five minutes, be careful not to let brown or burn.

Next add milk.  Why did I use whole milk?  First, because I wanted it to be extra creamy and not use heavy cream.  Second, because I love whole milk.  You can surely use 2%.

Add dry mustard.  It won’t taste like mustard, I promise.  I don’t even like mustard.

Keep whisking, for another five minutes.  Reduce heat to low.

Slowly add the egg.

Next, add cheese but reserve about 1/2 cup for topping.  I used both shredded and crumbled cheese.

Stir well.

Meanwhile, melt 2 tsp of butter in pan and add panko crumbs.

Put the mac and cheese in a 9 x 13 baking dish, sprinkle with remaining cheese and panko.

Cook for 20-25 minutes until cheese is melted.  You can cook it longer if you want a crispier top, but I didn’t want to risk drying out the creamy cheesiness underneath.

Let cool for 5 minutes and serve piping hot!

I will definitely make this again in the summer with some BBQ.  🙂

