Sometimes at the grocery store, I just can’t resist novelty stuff.  Here’s my latest example.  A mini watermelon.  It was labeled “personal watermelon,” which I just couldn’t stop cracking up over.  So I had to buy it.  When I got home, the reality of the situation hit.  I couldn’t figure out what to do with it, or what I was doing buying a watermelon mid-winter.  It would probably be tasteless.  Then the light bulb went off:  fill it with vodka!

In case you’ve never had the pleasure of having vodka watermelon, I highly suggest giving this a try.  And guess what?  The watermelon was incredibly delicious- full of flavor, just like it was summer.

Ingredients: (will vary based on size of watermelon)

-Watermelon

-Vodka

Cut a hole in the top of the watermelon:

Pick a decent or top shelf vodka.  Absolut is about as “low” as I’d go, personally.

This picture should really put the size of the watermelon in perspective!

Pour the vodka into the hole in the watermelon.  If you aren’t coordinated, use a funnel.  It may take some time for the vodka to disperse.  We ended up pouring it in 3-4 times over the course of two hours to make sure there was plenty of booze in there.

Chill in the fridge for at least 8 hours, or at maximum, two days.

Cut watermelon in half and scoop out.  If you have a melon baller, it’d make for even better of a presentation. 🙂
Enjoy responsibly!  It doesn’t taste like it’s heavily spiked, but it packs a punch.

