Mashed potatoes and I had a rocky start.  In my earlier cooking days, I always adhered to recipes to a T.  And with mashed potatoes, it never served me well.  Eventually I gave up.  I didn’t make one of my favorite foods for at least a year.

I discovered my passion for cooking on my own terms, beyond the magazines and recipe cards.  I use my basic knowledge on an every day basis to create my own meals.  Needless to say, these aren’t breakthrough mashed potatoes.  I’m sure if I tried, I could find a recipe just like it.  The point is- give yourself flexibility.

With mashed potatoes, consistency is key.  I’m not talking about being consistent (that’s boring in the home cooking world) -I’m talking about the feel of the potatoes.  How they fluff, cream, whip, etc.  The overall texture.  If you’ve ever made successful mashed potatoes- you just know it.

Fail-Safe Mashed Potatoes

Ingredients:

-2.5 lbs yukon gold potatoes, scrubbed, peeled and cubed

-2 Tablespoons salt

-1/8 cup heavy cream

-1/8 cup milk (more or less, depending on texture desired)

-2 T butter

Wash and peel potatoes.

Boil water with 2 Tablespoons of salt.  Place potatoes in the pot and cover with at least 2 inches of water.  Boil potatoes in water for approx 20-25 minutes until fork tender.  The potatoes should have no give to them when the fork is inserted.

Drain potatoes in colander.   Put butter in the mixing bowl, then pour potatoes over top.  Pour in heavy cream and begin mixing on medium-low speed.  As potatoes begin to mash, slowly add milk until the desired consistency is met.  Mix at medium speed for a short period of time until fluffier.  Do not over mix, as this will cause the potatoes to be flat.

There are so many variations of mashed potatoes I enjoy.  I like adding roasted garlic, cheddar cheese, or even sauteed onions.  Do what makes you happy!  These mashed potatoes always turn out just right!

Makes four servings.