Because I drank the whole pot of coffee-and because I love you all:  here’s an early Monday morning recipe!

These are a great simple oatmeal cookie.  If you don’t like pecans, leave ’em out.  But there’s just enough pecan, oat, and butter flavor.  Despite being crispy, they’ll still melt in your mouth.  Try them today!

Oatmeal Pecan Crisps

Ingredients

  • 1 cup unsalted butter (2 sticks) – softened
  • 1 cup Packed Brown Sugar
  • 1 cup Sugar
  • 2 whole Eggs
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla
  • 1-½ cup All-purpose Flour
  • 1 teaspoon Salt
  • 1 teaspoon Baking Soda
  • 3 cups Quick Oats
  • ½ cups Finely Chopped Pecans

Makes approx 3 dozen cookies.

Preheat oven to 350F.

Cream both sugars and softened butter in a large mixing bowl.

Add both eggs.  I love brown eggs- they’re so pretty.

Add 1 teaspoon of vanilla.  Or if you’re like me and have double strength high-quality vanilla, add 1/2 tsp.

Cream together until smooth:

In a separate bowl combine dry ingredients: flour, baking powder, and salt.

And then slowly add it to the butter mixture.  When fully incorporated, add oats and chopped pecans until folded in.  Scrape the sides occasionally.

Now stick your finger in and eat some batter…Wait, no.  Insert my mom telling me here I’ll get salmonella if I eat raw eggs.  Thanks, mom.

Drop in heaping tablespoon-fuls on your cookie sheet.  I used parchment paper to reduce the chance of sticking, and guarantee minimal clean up.  It’s not necessary, though.

Cook until light golden brown, about 10 minutes.

And serve with milk. 🙂

