Yes, it involves food.  But not cooking.  Nope, not weight loss either.

My goal for 2011 is to stop over eating.  And to eat slower.  I know it sounds simple, but with as much as I cook and as busy as I am, it gets easy to consume a lot of food really really fast.  Over a 24 hour timespan I’ve had four servings of creme brulee.  Yep, four.  You see…I made this recipe out of a great book Ratio by Michael Ruhlman.  I received for Christmas from Darren and it magically made eight 4 ounce servings.  Oops!

About ten minutes ago I scarfed down two ramekins of creme brulee.  A delicious, creamy (yet crunchy topped) delicacy.  Gone.  In five minutes flat.  And then I realized “what did I just do?!”  It was practically a waste.  I need to remember to take time to savor every moment of eating.  It’s more about taste instead of just getting my fill of nutrients and moving on with my day.  Not saying that creme brulee is packed full of nutrition…but you get the point.

So, instead I will share something a little more practical, but still equally delicious.

Quiche:

Ingredients

  • 1 recipe pie dough- or buy pre-made crust
  • 4-5 slices bacon
  • 1 cup vegetables- I used 1/2 of a zucchini, 1/2 of a green pepper, and 1/2 of an onion.
  • Salt and freshly ground pepper
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 3 large eggs
  • Pinch nutmeg
  • 6 ounces Gruyère or Swiss cheese, grated (1 1/2 cups)

Preheat oven to 350F.  Put pie dough in a pie or tart pan.  I’m using a Christmas gift from my mother-in-law, a Le Creuset tart pan.  I love it!

Put the pie crust in the oven for 15-25 minutes until golden brown.  Meanwhile, fry bacon until crispy.  Reserve a little bacon grease in the pan.

Drain on paper towels and crumble when cool.  Go ahead and eat a little.  I did it, so you can too!

Chop up your veggies.  Be creative with what you use!  It can be whatever you have on hand.  Mushrooms, tomatoes, spinach, etc.

Just make sure you fry it up beforehand otherwise it’ll make your quiche runny.  And no one likes a runny quiche!

When your crust is good and golden brown, take it out and sprinkle half of your cheese on it.  Whisk together your eggs, milk, and cream.  Put a pinch of nutmeg, salt, and pepper in the egg mixture.  Pour the egg mixture on top of the cheese in your pie pan.  Pour in veggies and crumbled bacon.  Top with remaining cheese. Place in oven on middle rack with a baking sheet underneath to catch any possible spill over.

Cook until quiche is golden and no longer jiggly, about 30-35 minutes.

Meanwhile, graciously let your husband do the dishes.  Let cool on a wire rack for 10-15 minutes before slicing.

Enjoy!

